Gougères & Dinner Parties (71/365)

IMG_9402 - Version 4 Jan invited usover for dinner and promised us a genuine Italian pasta dish that he had learned directly from an Italian mother. <;Bee came over to my place before dinner to help me make some gougères. I was a little apprehensive about making them as I had never attempted to make a choux pastry before, but it turned out to be surprisingly easy! The best piece of advice came from David Lebovitz: make sure that everything is prepared before you start. Once you start the water boiling there is no time to measure out the ingredients, so it’s definitely a sound piece of advice.

IMG_9394 - Version 2
Making the gougères were super fun, but it was so much more fun eating them. I really preferred these over the popovers, they were much cheesier and much more flavourful than the popovers.
IMG_9398 - Version 2
The best part of the meal though, was definitely Jan’s bacon pasta. It was such a simple dish, but the ingredients worked together so well. I can’t wait to make this on my own! The entire dish consisted of only 4 ingredients: bacon, onions, tomatos and whole wheat spaghetti. (That’s 6 if you include the hot pepper flakes and the grated cheese).

Gruyere & Thyme Gougères

3 responses

  1. Awesome food photography! I’m getting hungry!

    March 13, 2012 at 4.31 pm

  2. I’m not sure if I should keep on reading your blog; I always get very hungry.
    Beautiful photos!

    March 13, 2012 at 4.51 pm

  3. Mmm these were so good!

    March 16, 2012 at 12.22 am

Leave a Reply

