Where The Sidewalk Ends

This past weekend I was able to go to the semi-annual book sale held by the Children’s Hospital at the St. Vital mall. I was overwhelmed by the amount of books that they had there! It makes me wonder how I never heard about it before this! I was able get a whole bunch of books that are on my ever growing list. One of them was Shel Silverstein’s Where the Sidewalk Ends. I absolutely loved Silverstein when I was in school. I think it was because I didn’t speak English very well, and the lyrical quality of it just entranced me. Plus it’s silly, and giggle worth book!
Shel Silverstein - Where the Sidewalk Ends

One of my favourite things about buying used books are the personal touches that are left in the books, like inscriptions. I find that these days people either don’t gift books as often, or maybe it’s fallen out of style, but I think it’s such a nice thing to open a book from someone and find a personal note inscribed on the inside cover. It makes something that’s already great even more precious. This one reads “Herzlichen Glückwusnch, Ließe Von Tante Brigit” (which I can read! ) which means “Congratulations, Love Aunt Briget”. Isn’t that sweet?
Shel Silverstein - Where the Sidewalk Ends
This was one of my favourite poems when I was in grade school and I can still remember my teacher reading this to us.

Boa Constrictor

Oh, I’m being eaten
By a boa constrictor,
A boa constrictor,
A boa constrictor,
I’m being eaten by a boa constrictor,
And I don’t like it – one bit
Well, what do you know?
It’s nibblin’ on my toe.
Oh, gee,
It’s up to my knee.
Oh my,
It’s up to my thigh.
Oh, fiddle,
It’s up to my middle.
Oh heck,
It’s up to my neck.
Oh dread,
It’s upmmmmmmmmmmffffffffff…

Leave a Reply

