My first job: Telemarketing

At the time I thought it was a great job. I got paid weekly and I was making money in the doubledigits/hour when the minimum was still at $6/hr. It was all fun and games since I worked with a bunch of my friends. That is, until I ended up calling a senior citizen who clearly had no clue who or what was calling him asking for donations. He was under the impression that I was calling from a charity that regularly calls asking for clothing and household donations. This company that I was calling from had a similar name, and "fought" against the same disease, but I have no idea where all the money that people donated were going. My conscience kicked in when this senior citizen, clearly living on their pension, agreed to donate $20 out of their meager monthly stipend. Soon after that the job lost it's luster and I stopped caring. I was "laid off" (read: fired) soon after that for failing to produce decent sales. There ended my foray into telemarketing.

Leave a Reply

