May 7, 2010 – Day 23

Caramel Fleur De Sel Macarons

I finally conquered the macarons…almost. The end product ended up looking fine and lovely, albeit a little burnt. I had trouble with the macarons sticking to the parchment paper, but in end they didn’t taste too bad.

May 7, 2010


I followed the advice and let the eggs age and it seems that did the trick. The macarons developed feet ( Snapaholic was very confused when I texted her with “I got feet!”).

IMG_6898

It was also my first attempt at making caramel, and I was really surprised at how quickly the sugar went from caramelized to burnt. It could have been something to do with the ad hoc meat thermometer turned candy thermometer! I ended up making a caramel fleur de sel buttercream to go with the macarons.

IMG_6904

One response

  1. Oh, great shot! (Are those the dollarama plates?) Heehee, they remind me of little hamburgers 😛

    May 9, 2010 at 2.36 pm

Leave a comment