May 6, 2010 – Day 22

Apple Blossoms


The apple blossoms are starting to bloom and I saw this errant branch, and loved the way all the blossoms are sitting on top of the branch.

May 6, 2010


Today was my first attempt at macarons. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this French sweet and I decided I must try it. The perfect opportunity arose when Eating Monster decided to hold a potluck. She’s been away at law school and has come back for the summer, and what better way to start off our culinary exploits than to hold a potluck. And yikes, this woman holds legendary potlucks!
The first batch I made were so bad that I didn’t even take a photo of the finished product. I attempted the recipe from David Lebovitz and I ended up burning the macarons, and the tops cracked! I figured the problem was that the macarons were too large, and my oven was too hot.

Macarons

The second attempt, without the chocolate yielded better results

Macarons

They weren’t burnt, but they had cracked. I decided to do some research, and armed with an arsenal of knowledge, I shall attempt the macarons again. Hopefully they turn out in time for the potluck!

2 responses

  1. I love how the background is so blurred on the apple blossom pic.

    LOL I totally thought macaroons were something different! I thought they were a kind of bar! They look quite interesting, can’t wait to try them!

    May 6, 2010 at 9.40 pm

    • debbe

      IF they turn out! That’s a big if!

      May 6, 2010 at 11.17 pm

Leave a Reply

