Garlic Soup

Garlic Soup

I had been in a food funk lately. My cooking consisted of re-heating whatever leftovers that were left in the fridge. Maybe it was winter blahs, I don’t know. What I do know is that after perusing Tea & Cookies for only a couple minutes I was inspired to cook again! I decided to start off with something light, well, not light in flavour, but light in preparation and cooking time. That and my love for delicious delicious garlic led me to try her Garlic Soup at Midnight recipe. I made the soup at noon rather than midnight and it tasted just as good. I substituted cilantro in place of parsley, which we didn’t have, and it was delicious. I think the cilantro helped balance out the strong garlic flavour.

IMG_5547

(Recipe after the cut)

I added homemade croutons like she suggested and it was great. It was much better with that slight chewiness to it.
This was a great way to kick off spring and now I have my cooking groove back!

AUSTRIAN GARLIC SOUP (knoblauchcremesuppe) [Recipe from Tea & Cookies]
3 tbs unsalted butter
10 cloves garlic
1/4 cup sifted flour
3/4 cup milk
1 1/2 cup chicken (or vegetable) stock
2 tbs chopped parsley, plus additional for garnish (I substituted cilantro)
1 slice of bread per person

Melt the butter in a heavy saucepan, preferably with a rounded bottom (easier for whisking). Keep the butter on a low heat and add the garlic, finely minced or squeezed through a garlic press. Sauté gradually, on low heat, making sure the garlic does not brown.

When the garlic has softened (5-10 minutes), begin whisking in the flour so that it forms a thick paste. Add the milk, in a slow stream, whisking constantly (standard roux technique). When the milk has been fully incorporated, begin whisking in the chicken stock. Allow the soup to bubble and thicken, and add more stock if needed.

Chop the parsley and stir into the soup. Cut the bread into medium cubes and toast in an oven or toaster oven. Garnish with extra parsley and the bread cubes.

Leave a Reply

