Red Boot Drive-In

As I was driving around one day running errands with my mother, I noticed a sign that said “We Only Serve Old Country Hot Dogs”. I was intrigued and convinced my mother to pull a u-Turn so we could try it out. It turned out that it was a drive-in restaurant called The Red Boot In. Then I had a thought! I should get my friends together and we should do a tour of Winnipeg, sampling all the drive-in’s that Winnipeg has to offer. So began Drive-In 2009!
I’ve been back there twice and both times the food has been fast, the service wonderful and the food even better.

IMG_0227

The first time I went there I tried their hotdog and karvy fries. The hot dog came loaded with sautéed onions, mustard, and a suspect-looking mystery meat concoction. It turns out that the suspect looking meat was actually their own home-made chili sauce, and it was incredibly good. I started thinking of what I could slather this stuff on… The hotdog itself was good as well, they boast “old country” wieners, which had a good bite to them. The bun was a bit too soft for my liking, but that’s because I dislike white bread. I didn’t think to ask if they had whole wheat, but I will next time. The second time  I went there I had their hamburger, which again, came with onions and mustard, and their chili sauce. I have to say that I wasn’t too impressed with their hamburger, it wasn’t all too remarkable.

IMG_0226

And then I tried their karvy fries, which they boast as their specialty. It’s crinkle cut, home-style fries which are coated in a slightly spicy (but not really) seasoning, which is then fried. I think they are some of the best fries I’ve tasted. The taste is hard to describe – I really don’t like when people say this – but it’s just one of those things that you have to go down and taste for yourself.

IMG_0246

And they even have a little place outside, complete with umbrellas if it’s raining or too sunny for you to sit at.

IMG_0248

I’d have to say that Red Boot is definitely a place that I would go back to again and again – if for their karvy fries alone, and maybe the hot dog.

Red Boot Drive-In
1866 NESS AVE
(204) 888-1506

Leave a Reply

