Gruyere Popovers (57/365)

IMG_9120 - Version 2

Last Sunday I found myself with some free time so I decided to tackle a couple of things that had been on my list for quite a while now – popovers! I found a couple of recipes online and didn’t really like what I saw so I decided to make my own instead!
IMG_9126 - Version 2

I don’t know why I out off making these for so long, like most recipes, I’m finding that things are much easier than I ever anticipate.
IMG_9128

IMG_9137 - Version 2

Gruyere Popovers

3 cups of milk
3 cups of flour
6 eggs
I tsp of salt
1 cup of gruyere (the recipe called for one cup… but I’m pretty sure I ended up grating a lot more, and it was wasted inside the popover anyways!)
Chives (to taste!)
2 tbsp melted butter (or if you’re like me and forget, just open the stick from the package and jam your brush in there and smear about)

Preheat oven to 400 and put muffin tins (or if you’re lucky enough to have popover tins put those in – I luckily had bought these oddly shaped cupcake/muffin tins from ikea and they were perfect for this). Mix together the salt and flour in a bowl. In a separate bowl beat the eggs. Mix the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients. Add the cheese. Take the tins out of the oven and brush with melted butter (quickly! It needs to stay hot). Fill each a little more than halfway with the mixture. Then put in the oven and whatever you do for the love of god, do not open the oven door until 30 minutes have passed. If you do decide to open the oven door the heavens will rain upon you a hellfire rain of destruction and the higher powers will smite you, that or your popovers might deflate. Also, the 30 isn’t hard and fast, it’s more a 25-30, but at least 25!

In the future, I would add chives (a lot of them!)and rather than incorporating all of the cheese I would reserve a fair amount (or grate more) and top it after I had poured in the batter. Also, I plant to substitute some buttermilk. Some recipes called for heating the milk – but this girl is way too lazy to heat it to 125, and it worked out fine anyways.

One last tip, when you take it out of the oven, remove the popovers as soon as possible and don’t leave them in the tins for two reason, the first is that the residual heat from the pan will continue to cook them and they’ll be tough and chewy on the outside, and if you leave them even longer, they’ll get soggy inside the tin – also not good.

10 responses

  1. These look delicious! Your photography is lovely.

    March 4, 2012 at 11.41 am

    • debbe

      Thank you! They were absolutely delicious! I can’t wait to make them again!

      March 5, 2012 at 11.02 pm

  2. These photos are all amazing!
    It really makes me wanna eat them now!

    March 4, 2012 at 7.15 pm

  3. These look so good, and they tasted even better! They look pretty easy to make too.

    March 4, 2012 at 9.11 pm

  4. Great shots! It looks like you had fun making them… whats even better was I got to be your guinea pig :P

    March 4, 2012 at 10.23 pm

    • debbe

      When I try them again, you can be my guinea pig again!

      March 5, 2012 at 11.08 pm

  5. Lovely photos! I’m sure these were absolutely delicious–Gruyere is a favorite of mine.

    March 5, 2012 at 11.54 am

    • debbe

      Thanks! They were super delicious! The insides are the best part!

      March 5, 2012 at 11.08 pm

  6. OMG, to die for, and my downfall!

    March 8, 2012 at 7.55 am

  7. Evain

    I made this two days ago and it was delicious! It’s only me and hubby and we couldn’t eat all of it so I just saved the batter for the next day, and you know what? It’s even better the second day. I think this batter can rest a day or two and turn out more beautifully than on the first day. Thank you so much for sharing, I’ve tried other popover recipes, but for whatever reason, this is the best! OH and I’m gonna head over to IKEA for those pans!

    April 11, 2012 at 3.58 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers